Andrew Cox

For more detail about Schools orienteering, check out the Irish Schools Blog
Also check out the Irish Orienteer Blog

Friday, December 12, 2008

Mud, mud, glorious mud!

The Waterford Region Secondary Schools event took place at Tower Hill, Portlaw today, December 12th in torrential downpours. Well done to all who showed great endurance to complete a multiplicity of courses. 189 started (220 pupils) with only 64 not finishing. Well done.

The full results can be found by following
this link to the IOA website. You can even find out your splits.

Please note that I was able to make all corrections except one. Sam Butler took 61 minutes on the Junior Boys course which placed him second.

The Girls Shield was retained by the Ursuline (743 minutes) from Newtown (773 minutes).
The Boys Shield was retained by Newtown.

Senior Girls
1. Ursuline (Laura Cox, Laura Cullen, Shirley Fan, Nicola Power)
2. Newtown (Camilla Driver, Andrea Hemmingway, Sarah Galloway, Heidi McIlvenny)
Junior Girls
1. Newtown 1 (Andrea Harvey, Georgia Doorley, Becky Barr, Nicola Fennell)
2. Ursuline (Laura Breen, Ruth Breen, Lydia Hearne, Fiona Tyndall)
3. Newtown 2 (Anna White, Rebecca Hoban, Phoebe Moore, Emma Prendergast)
First Year Girls
1. Ursuline 1 (Maggie Doolan, Evelyn Farrell, Louisa Barry, Laura O'Hare)
2. Newtown (Mia Falkenthal, Ruth Cusack, Charlotte Hackett, Gillian Bond)
3. Ursuline 2 (Aisling O'Kennedy, Colleen O'Sullivan,Alice Roche, Saoirse Walsh)
Senior Boys
1. Newtown (Niall McEvoy, Callum Chambers, Joe Dixon, Peter Keogh)
2. Good Counsel (Eoin Bardon, Thomas Aylward, Bill Phelan, David Stebbing)
Junior Boys
1. Newtown 1 (Gareth Molloy, Sam Butler, Dahnan Spurling, Diarmuid Windfield)
2. Newtown 2 (Luke Ryan, Ronan Kelly, Ben Slevin, Hunter MacLachlan)
First year boys
1. Newtown 1 (Barog Kennedy, Neil Dunne, Liam Landy, Dylan Henry)
2. Newtown 2 (David Hatton, Will Troy, Leo Creighton, Marcus Walsh)
Transition Year Course
1. Ger Foxe and Richard Kumar (Good Counsel)
2. Shane Doyle and Kevin Burke (Good Counsel)
3. John Keane and Paul Power (CBS Tramore)