on Twitter,
Waterford Orienteers on Facebook,
For more detail about Schools orienteering,
check out the Irish Schools Blog
Also check out the Irish Orienteer Blog for all matters Orienteering

Monday, December 15, 2008

SE Winter /Autumn League

The League results are as follows after yesterday's event. Best 3 of 4 events to count.

Blue Course
1. Andrew Pim
2. Brian Flannelly (CorkO)

Green Course
1. Roger Johnson
2. Laura Cox
3. Norman Storey

Red Course
1. Jonathan Pim
2. Jana Cox
3. Robert Pim

Prizes on the way shortly.

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Carrickbyrne pix and results

Thanks Laura for the photos

The results for the SE League 4 event held at Carrickbyrne on December 14th are now on the IOA website.
A big thanks to Paul Allen for all his hard work in putting on the event.

Friday, December 12, 2008

Mud, mud, glorious mud!

The Waterford Region Secondary Schools event took place at Tower Hill, Portlaw today, December 12th in torrential downpours. Well done to all who showed great endurance to complete a multiplicity of courses. 189 started (220 pupils) with only 64 not finishing. Well done.

The full results can be found by following
this link to the IOA website. You can even find out your splits.

Please note that I was able to make all corrections except one. Sam Butler took 61 minutes on the Junior Boys course which placed him second.

The Girls Shield was retained by the Ursuline (743 minutes) from Newtown (773 minutes).
The Boys Shield was retained by Newtown.

Senior Girls
1. Ursuline (Laura Cox, Laura Cullen, Shirley Fan, Nicola Power)
2. Newtown (Camilla Driver, Andrea Hemmingway, Sarah Galloway, Heidi McIlvenny)
Junior Girls
1. Newtown 1 (Andrea Harvey, Georgia Doorley, Becky Barr, Nicola Fennell)
2. Ursuline (Laura Breen, Ruth Breen, Lydia Hearne, Fiona Tyndall)
3. Newtown 2 (Anna White, Rebecca Hoban, Phoebe Moore, Emma Prendergast)
First Year Girls
1. Ursuline 1 (Maggie Doolan, Evelyn Farrell, Louisa Barry, Laura O'Hare)
2. Newtown (Mia Falkenthal, Ruth Cusack, Charlotte Hackett, Gillian Bond)
3. Ursuline 2 (Aisling O'Kennedy, Colleen O'Sullivan,Alice Roche, Saoirse Walsh)
Senior Boys
1. Newtown (Niall McEvoy, Callum Chambers, Joe Dixon, Peter Keogh)
2. Good Counsel (Eoin Bardon, Thomas Aylward, Bill Phelan, David Stebbing)
Junior Boys
1. Newtown 1 (Gareth Molloy, Sam Butler, Dahnan Spurling, Diarmuid Windfield)
2. Newtown 2 (Luke Ryan, Ronan Kelly, Ben Slevin, Hunter MacLachlan)
First year boys
1. Newtown 1 (Barog Kennedy, Neil Dunne, Liam Landy, Dylan Henry)
2. Newtown 2 (David Hatton, Will Troy, Leo Creighton, Marcus Walsh)
Transition Year Course
1. Ger Foxe and Richard Kumar (Good Counsel)
2. Shane Doyle and Kevin Burke (Good Counsel)
3. John Keane and Paul Power (CBS Tramore)

Thursday, December 4, 2008

Faithlegg regain the Primary Schools Shield

The Waterford regional Primary schools event was held at Newtown School on December 4th with a total of 9 schools participating. There 74 teams of 4 (and sometimes 5) entered. The weather held off and eveything went off smoothly. A big thanks to all the teachers who supported the event; to Transition year students from Newtown school who put out and collected controls and acted as stewards on the courses; to club members Hugh Dobbs, Veronica Purcell and Jana Cox who looked after registration and download; to my fellow staff who lent a hand when they were not teaching and to thePrincipal of Newtown who allowed the event to go ahead.
The overall shield was recaptured by Faithlegg National School. Full results can be found on the IOA website
The following teams will receive prizes. This constitutes the first 3 teams in each category plus the leading team from each school. Teachers should contact me next week to arrange to get the prizes. Pictures will be uploaded at the weekend. If anybody has some nice pix, please send them to me.

1. Dunhill (Jonathan,Robert,Chris, Dillon) 19.36
2. Butlerstown (Mark,Daniel,Martin,Jack,Corey) 19.45
3. Faithlegg (Stephen,Simon,Luke,Shannon) 19.59
4. Faithlegg (Jamie,Darragh,Ruari,Jack) 20.42
5. Christchurch (Kyle, Jake, Ciaran,Fiachra) 23.53
7. Grangemockler (Phelim,Padraic,Patrick,Aisling) 28.06
8. Waterpark (David,Patrick,Brian,Valdrin) 29.07
14. Gaelscoil (Florian,Harry,Devin,Oisin) 52.16

1. Faithegg (Niamh,Annie,Emily,Amy) 23.47
2. John of Gods (Hayley,Hope,Jessica, Sarah) 30.32
3. John of Gods (Abresa, Susan,Aoife,Doireann) 31.41
7. Grangemockler (Caoimhe,Aine,Maria, Shauna) 34.22
10. Mercy (Ciara,Ciara,Sally,CJ) 38.53
12. Christchurch (Claire,Sophie,August,Bevin,Martha) 40.04
14. Waterpark (Catherine,Alimerl,Urte) 41.09
18. Butlerstown (Doireann,Sarah,Orla,Emily) 46.06
21. Gaelscoil (Jessica,Ciara,Emma,Aoife) 49.40

Overall results
1. Faithlegg: 18 points (Shield winners)
2. John of Gods: 49 points
3. Grangemockler: 52 points
4. Waterpark: 69 points
5. Mercy: 100 points
6. Christchurch: 104 points
7. Butlerstown: 116 points
8. Gaelscoil: 143 points